Recertification of CTCA Specialists

The Conjoint Committee for the Recognition of Training in CT Coronary Angiography requires all registered CTCA Specialists to renew their registration on a triennial basis. Recertification of registration requires evidence of ongoing competency.

CTCA Specialists who do not submit their applications for recertification with the Committee Secretariat by the stipulated deadline will be removed from the CTCA Register, and Medicare Australia will be informed of their revised registration status.

CTCA Specialists that have been removed from the CTCA Register are able to re-register. This will involve making a full application for Recognition of Training in CT Coronary Angiography to the Conjoint Committee.

As of May 2014, two pathways are available by which CTCA Specialists can apply for Recertification for either Level A or Level B recognition. Prospective applicants should read the CTCA Recertification Information - Implementation of Recertification Pathways which is available under the Resources listing below.

Please note there are specific logbook templates that need to be submitted for each of the two Recertification pathways for Level A and Level B CTCA Specialists.


Training Requirements for CTCA

Recertification Application Form

Policy Statements 

Pathway 1 Resources

Pathway 2 Resources:


CTCA Training Requirements

In order to be recognised as a CTCA Specialist, Cardiologists, Nuclear Medicine Physicians and Radiologists will need to demonstrate that they have completed the requisite training criteria.

Please download the CTCA training requirements which outline what training and experience you need to achieve, and what evidence of this you need to provide, in order to be recognised as a CTCA Specialist.

Please   click here to download a copy of the current Guidelines.

Please click here to download a copy of the Guidelines for use during COVID-19

Conversion of Level A to Level B CTCA Specialist Recognition

Please click here for guidelines and resources for conversion of Level A to Level B CTCA Specialist recognition.

Application Resources

Application Form

Please download the Application for Recognition of Training in CTCA

To assist the assessment process, make sure you supply all the evidence requested in the application form.


The Conjoint Committee requires specific evidence of your case experience in CTCA. Please review the application form to determine the format in which to provide this evidence.


Specialists making an application must record their cases using the CTCA Certification Logbook Template_General.

Please click here for resources for CTCA Specialists.

Registered CTCA Specialists are reminded that they need to record their recertification cases in the CTCA Recertification Logbook.

The Application Process

The CTCA application process is designed to assist specialists in achieving recognition of their experience and training.

Your application will be reviewed by the Conjoint Committee secretariat in the first instance to check that it is complete. If necessary, the secretariat will contact you if they require any further information and/ or documentation.

Once complete, an expert panel will assess your application. The panel has one member from each of the three parent bodies (AANMS, CSANZ, RANZCR). If your application is successful, you will be advised of this in writing and your name will be published onto the CTCA website as either a Level A or Level B CTCA Specialist.

If one or more panel members do not approve your application, it passes to the full Conjoint Committee (9 members), who will consider your application. You may then be asked for more information, or to clarify something in your application. In total, there are three rounds of consideration open to applicants, after which you will need to reapply (for a fee of $365 incl. GST).

For more information, please contact the Conjoint Committee.